Monday, 29 November 2021 09:49

PRISM 2021

PRISM 2021 winners announced

#PRISM #strutturadellamateria #Scienceofmaterials

For the category PRISM Senior, the Prize has been awarded to Valeria Nicolosi, Professor of Nanomaterials and Advanced Microscopy at @Trinity College Dublin

For the category PRISM Junior, the Prize has been awarded to Matteo Mitrano, Assistant Professor of Physics @Harvard University

The online award ceremony will be held on December 14th at 3 p.m. on the Facebook page @CNRsocialFB.

Valeria Nicolosi is presently Professor at the Trinity College of Dublin (Ireland), where she holds the Chair of Nanomaterials and Advanced Microscopy at the School of Chemistry.
She received her BSc degree in Chemistry from the University of Catania (Italy) in 2001 and Ph.D. in Physics from Trinity College Dublin (Ireland) in 2006.
In 2008 she moved to the University of Oxford as a Marie Curie Fellow and she returned to Trinity College Dublin as an ERC Research Professor in 2012.
Her research activity addresses preparation and structural characterization of low-dimensional materials by means of electron microscopy with high-end resolution for the investigation of the atomic structure and lattice defects in regards to their fundamental chemical-physical properties.

Matteo Mitrano graduated with a degree in Physics from the University of Rome “Sapienza” in 2010.
He then moved to Germany and worked at the Max-Planck Institute for the Structure and Dynamics of Matter in Hamburg, where he received his PhD in 2015.
From 2016 to 2020, he continued his research at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (USA) as a Feodor Lynen postdoctoral fellow funded by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation.
In 2020, he joined the Department of Physics at Harvard University as an assistant professor. His research focuses on investigating fundamental problems in quantum materials, and on controlling their nonequilibrium properties, by using advanced ultrafast optical and scattering techniques.
In recognition of his research, he has been awarded the 2019 LCLS Young Investigator Award of the SLAC National Accelerator laboratory.

We use cookies essential for the functioning of the site. You can decide for yourself whether or not to allow cookies. Please note that if you refuse them, you may not be able to use all of the site's features.